Tyler Perry’s The Haves and the Have Nots Theory: Jim’s Campaign Speech

By Jeremy Carden

11907208_914450651960723_2040476160599964211_n

This blog is not really about theories, but it is a breakdown of Jim’s campaign speech in the Season 3 finale. The speech was Jim’s way of taking Celine’s assault on his public persona by flipping the script!

He basically used his exposed affair and outside children to his benefit to return to the positive side of the voters. Love or hate him, you have to admit that Jim knows how to play a crowd!

CN6OvcoWgAA932g

During his speech, the bloodbath that he ordered had finally begun.

The only victim who made it out alive was Veronica, and it could be argued that it was because she and the rest of the “Haves” clan got arrested by Jennifer.

the-haves-and-the-have-nots-new-season

You could compare this to when Candace had Jim kidnapped the night that Amanda was going to shoot someone in the house. Remember that Jim was “Moe” in her twisted game, and that most likely meant that he was the one who would have gotten killed.

Screenshot_14

Jim had one of the killers hiding out in Veronica house, and when she came into her new home; she was going to be shot without anyone knowing. In a strange twist of fate, Veronica should be grateful that she was taken into police custody instead of being killed.

However, it has yet to be determined if the sniper will still be hiding out in her house until she does come home. Seriously, who think that Cryers and Harringtons WON’T get out of their current situation?

Screenshot_25

Moving onto the speech, it was one thing that Jim was practically telling one lie after the next, but I would have to say the other character’s made this scene. If only there were thought bubbles coming out from Veronica, Katheryn and David during the speech!

Screenshot_16

You could tell how they felt about Jim’s words based on their facial expressions. What I will do from here is breakdown Jim’s speech, and talk about each subject during his time at the podium. I will talk about what Jim says, the character’s reactions to his words and the killings.

I had to listen to this speech about 6 times in order to type it out correctly, but it was worth it for the purpose of discussing it with my faithful readers. Everything marked in bold represents Jim’s lines during the speech.

Here is how the speech started:

As I’m sure you can imagine, I’ve had to think long and hard about what I’m going to say up here today. But before I say it, I would like to first thank my lovely wife Katheryn for staying beside me all of these years. And of course our daughter in her absence here although never ever far from my heart, and our son Wyatt.

thehaves_summer14_t11

From the start, you can tell that it appears that Jim is about to announce that he will abandon his run for office. He was trying to start off on a positive note by acknowledging his wife who had been with him despite the affair, and then point out his children by Katheryn. Overall, it seems that he was trying to gain sympathy before getting into the meat of his speech.

I need to let you know that I am not a perfect man not by any means. I am a man who has made a lot of mistakes, but I am a man who owns his mistakes.

Screenshot_5

During this portion of the speech, we get to see Terrell murdered by having his throat slit by a prison guard.

Screenshot_8

Afterwards, Toxic is held down by several guards as he gets stabbed to death in the chest.

The line “A man who has made a lot of mistakes, but I am a man who owns his mistakes.” could be linked to Jim’s mistake of putting Wyatt in a “fake prison” setting, and then not listening to Katheryn’s warnings about getting him out of there.

Remember that if he had taken Wyatt out of prison when Katheryn told him to, Toxic would not have been able to get in Wyatt’s sex to sexually assault him.

Screenshot_9

Jim “owned” his mistake by having Toxic killed, but that still did not take away Wyatt’s emotional scars from the incident.

Screenshot_11

Yes, it is true. I had 2 sons with a woman that I used to love. This is a woman who was once kind and gentle. A woman who saw me through some very rough times during my marriage when my wife and I were going through some very difficult periods.

Yes, it is true that when I broke it off with this woman I was not there for her chi-…my children.

This is something that I have to live with, something that I have to deal with, and something that I will be sorry for the rest of my life. My only hope is that one day I can get to really meet these fine young men.

One day I can begin to right that wrong, and who knows perhaps even maybe be able to be some sort of a influence for good in their lives.

Screenshot_10

Celine was watching this part of the speech intensely on television from her home. My one question is whether or not she is buying what Jim was saying. He had just came to her house to have sex with her as revenge for what she did to him by exposing his affair and his outside children on television.

Screenshot_42

Makes you think about whether or not she will still trying to get “even” with Jim because she thinks he will really try to get to know Little Jimmy and Carlos. However, you have to remember that he is giving that “little bastard” a very small amount of child support.

My heart aches…my mind races when I think of all of the things that I have done wrong. 

Screenshot_15

The scene of Professor Cannon being killed is probably my favorite of the 3 killings that took place. I am not “happy” because he got what he deserved for raping Amanda. However, it is the scene itself that had me smiling.

It was the fact that it was planned so beautifully! You get his attention by having a young attractive female with her hood up playing the role of the damsel in distress. She was parked right next to his car, and was pretending to have some car trouble.

Knowing that he was attracted to young women, Jim had it planned to catch the professor off-guard. Something else to note about Jim’s speech was that the killings and whatnot going on were personify his lines.

Screenshot_17

For example, he said that “his heart ached.” This lined up perfectly with Cannon being shot a few times in the chest by the woman.

Screenshot_18

We move onto the police at Benny’s towing company to take away the Black Sedan. That lines up with Jim’s like about how his mind races about everything that he has done wrong.

Screenshot_19

He was wrong for trying to cover up Wyatt’s hit-and-run charges, and now it is eventually coming back to bite him!

Then he gets into the part of the speech where he is done feeling sorry for himself, and tries to get the public to see that he has done good despite his many mistakes.

Screenshot_22

But you know what? I have also done some things, not very many, but some things right. And with your permission I would like to touch on just a few of those right now.

Screenshot_29

As a judge, I have managed to put some of this state’s worst criminals behind bars forever. Ironically, Veronica got Quincy (one of the state’s worst criminals) on the other side of those prison bars…and then Benny did the same thing.

Screenshot_21

I helped build a community center for the elderly. With my wife’s charity, we’ve dug wells in Africa, we’ve build hospitals, we’ve built homeless shelters, we’ve built schools.

Screenshot_4

At this point, Maggie is both surprised and frustrated that Jim has not thrown in the towel. Not only that, he is truly working over the crowd in his favor.

We were on the front line of the earthquake in Haiti. We’ve spent millions of dollars helping underprivileged children. We have been instrumental in bringing medical supplies to the farthest reaches of the farthest continents.

Yes, I am a man who has made many mistakes, but I am a god-fearing man. I am a man who goes to church. I am a man who when he makes a mistake he comes out and he says it unless he is blindsided on television by someone who has an agenda.

Screenshot_40

Katheryn’s face during this scene was priceless! It is important to mention that the ONLY time we see this man in church was during Little Lizzie’s funeral!

He got a taste of the power of Jesus when Hanna comforted him after he told her to leave his house for having a cleaning crew clean Amanda’s room.

oprah.com-20150826-hhn-222-promo-2-949x534-550x309

And her agenda is simply to destroy me, but I will not let that happen because I am only human. And I hope that you will not let that happen either. That is why I am here today to ask you, no no forget that I am here to plead with you; don’t let this other agenda win vote for Jim Cryer come election day.

Screenshot_38

I also want to mention that Veronica’s face after Jim mentioned his career being destroyed by someone with an agenda really stuck with me.

screenshot_13

During the Harringtons’ Q&A session to buy time for Jim to arrive (the first televised campaign that was cancelled due to Amanda’s death), she was blindsided by Landon. The gay activist on the scene had an “agenda” that almost made Veronica crash and burn, but she was able to make it out like a champ.

That is why I think that she made that face because Jim did exactly what she did!

Screenshot_34

Yes, I’ve made mistakes. Yes, my life is in shambles sometimes, but my business has grown each and every year. That is what this state needs; someone who can grow the business in this state each and every year. That is what I am not quitting, that is why I am standing here in front of you to tell you that yes Jim Cryer IS running for governor of the state of Georgia.

oprah.com-20150826-hhn-222-promo-2-949x534-550x309

Overall, Jim’s speech did what he wanted it to do. It made him regain a positive image to the public, and this was based on the roar of applause that he received after his speech.

This meme sums up my initial reaction after listening to Jim’s speech:

FB5IGMg

Basically, the man was telling one lie after the next…

Screenshot_35

Also, Katheryn coming to his side was a sign of unity to express that she is with him no matter what. She certainly knows how to play the role of the understanding wife (at least to the general public).

Screenshot_37

David, Maggie and Veronica know that Jim’s political revival means that their plan of getting David to run will be more difficult however; he plans to run on a separate ticket.

Screenshot_28

Now that they’ve all be arrested, I am interested to see how things play out. Not just for how they manage to avoid jail, but what it will do to Jim’s campaign now.

What did you think of the speech? Did you want to know what the other characters were thinking while listening to Jim’s words? Do you think being arrested will help or hurt their run for office?

Like what you read? Then be sure to follow me on Twitter (@jccarden) because on Tuesday nights at 9 PM I’m on there tweeting during each new episode of the #HAHN! I also have a Facebook page dedicated to my blog posts and HAHN memes as well! Also follow my blog so you can enjoy my new articles when they are posted. 

Leave a comment