Pokemon Theory: Will Snorlax Get A Mega Evolution?

By Jeremy Carden

pkmnxy-540x293

When Pokemon X and Y first debuted a little over a year ago, fans were so excited to see some of their favorite Pokemon from past generations take things to a new level. Mega Evolution added something to the Pokemon franchise that some fans considered much needed; giving some of the older and underrated Pokemon (not counting creatures like Charizard or Mewtwo) a much needed power boost through Mega Evolution.

I’m not going to type up this blog and tell you that I was not excited to see some Pokemon who rarely saw the field of battle given a mega form like Mawhile or Manectric. Though I am a bit disappointed that Mega Evolution is becoming a little less special when it began to look like every Pokemon and its mother was being handed out a mega form.

Now this is just a prediction blog, but one mega that I’d love to see would be a Mega Snorlax!

snorlax-540x303

This is one Pokemon that I’d love to see get a power boost (not saying that Snorlax needs one necessarily). Well I think aside from stat increases, I feel that I’d be more interested in seeing what a Mega Snorlax would look like.

commission__traein_17_by_mtc_studios-d6l65ge

If you ask me I think that a Mega Snorlax would have 3 changes in appearance from a regular Snorlax:

  1. Mega Snorlax would have its eyes open
  2. It would be buff and muscular
  3. It would be standing up!!!

Now based on the picture above, you’ll see that this fan-made Mega Snorlax fits all 3 descriptions that I just listed.

Pxywikiwalkthrough189

What made me begin to speculate about a Mega Snorlax eventually being a thing was when we first saw screenshots from Pokemon X and Y. In the picture we saw something that we have never seen before even way back in the days of Pokemon Red and Blue; Snorlax had a STANDING sprite!!!!!

I don’t know…I mean Snorlax always appearing in the games laying back and even sitting up in some games might have hinted that it had a dormant power that had yet to be tapped into.

250px-143Snorlax

Looking at the sprites from Generation 3, it seems like Snorlax was attempting to get up but fell back into a deep sleep. Moving on to Generation 4 to 5, Snorlax is actually sitting up! Then we get to the Kalos region and it is now standing up!!

In terms of a bulkier appearance, I think that a Mega Snorlax would be the ultimate “Bulk Up” in the sense that its ton of fat would be turned into pure muscle. How’s that for a powerhouse Pokemon?

tumblr_mu1g81MqSZ1r1alb2o1_1280

Finally, when the transformation is nearly complete we see Snorlax open its eyes and give out a loud roar as it prepares for battle!

Now in terms of ability, I think it would probably have Scrappy or Huge Power. I mean Huge Power doubles Attack so yes this would be a killer Snorlax!

I really hope that we do get a Mega Snorlax in the new Generation 3 remakes because I’d love to see it?

2350664-9491170899-Ash_S

Would you also like to see a Mega Snorlax? What other Pokemon would you like to see get a Mega Evolution and why?

One thought on “Pokemon Theory: Will Snorlax Get A Mega Evolution?

  1. Nunya says:

    Honestly, I’d rather Mega Snorlax stay fat then get all buff and tough. Being fat is kind of what makes Snorlax what he is.

Leave a Reply

