My Theme for 2014: Clarity

by Jeremy Carden

Image

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!Image

Today is that time of year when everyone makes up a list of things that they want above all else! I’m not talking about writing up their Christmas List for Santa because that was last month…

Most people define New Years as a time of rebirth or a fresh start to set new goals for themselves. Everyone has something in their lives that they’d like to accomplish or obtain. Others use New Years to reflect on the old year and how they can make the New Year even better than the last one. If anything New Years is when people tell themselves and others (especially through social media) that this year will be a time when things are different.

Image

One of the most common resolutions made by people is the lose weight. It makes sense due to Thanksgiving and Christmas being a time when people throw out their healthy lifestyle in favor of huge dinners and endless desserts. As usual, the gym will be packed for the first couple of weeks in January before it is once again empty.

In my case, I decided NOT to write up a list of things like I did last year. Within the first 3 weeks of January, at least 5 of the things on my list literally fell through causing me to panic. It was like I was plotting out every little detail of how I wanted my life to go and not how God was going to see me through it. That was one of the biggest wake up calls of my life. About two weeks ago, I decided to take out the list I made for 2013 and read through it. Getting towards the end of my list I realized that I didn’t accomplish any of my self-centered goals, but I did get other important things crossed off my list.

Image

Back in May, I finally got my degrees from Liberty University. Last night, I took them out of my closet and for the first time since I got them in the mail…I just looked at them.

When I first got them I felt empty on the inside questioning what to do next. I did start graduate school in the fall and I’m going back in a couple of weeks. However, there is this dreary realization that my time is running out. The time that I have left in college is winding down, and the real world is waiting for me. 

Something that I want and need to stop doing is dwelling on the past and ignoring the things that I have already accomplished. Just because I am not where I want to be in life right now is no excuse for me not being thankful for what God has already helped me to achieve. Deep down I know that being more appreciative will help to make my life a little bit easier.

Also remaining humble is a positive trait to practice because I know the real world is a big world. I’ll be competing with people with the same degree(s) as me, and for the most part all of the accomplishments that people praise me for in college might not mean squat in the real world. From what I’ve seen during the internships that I’ve experienced, it is more about who you know and what you can do rather than what awards and degrees you have. 

Overall, the main thing that I hope to accomplish or obtain in 2014 is clarity. I’m going to try my best to have a more positive outlook on life and see what God is putting in front of me. That was one of my main issues in the past: not seeing what God has already put in front of me because I’m too distracted at what I want for myself.

Image

I’m not looking for God to show me the blueprints of my entire life and answer a lot of the questions I’m sure you are wondering about:

  1. Who am I supposed to marry?
  2. When will I meet the person that I’m supposed to marry?
  3. What job/career am I supposed to pursue?
  4. Will I get hired by my dream job this year?
  5. How will I pay off my student loans?
  6. Will I be able to afford to move into my own place this year?

And the list goes on and on and on…

My goal is to do my best at whatever I decide to pursue in 2014. I’m not sure what the future will bring, but I am sure about who holds my future.

I hope that this is a message for someone out there that is uncertain about what to do over the next 364 days. Here’s to a New Year of endless possibilities and experiences!  

Leave a Reply

