Is God an On Time God or Last Second Savior?

Image

There are plenty of songs and sayings that talk about God’s timing. Something that I’ve been thinking about for the past few days is whose time table or schedule have I been following; God’s or my own…

I can honestly say that there have been times when I felt like God wasn’t answering my prayers or even caring about the seemingly hopeless situations that I was in. However, it seems like God just stepped in at the LAST second rescuing me from the trouble that I was faced with.

Now this is what sparked my own judgment as to whether or not I can truly call my God a “Last Second Savior.” Depending on your view of predestination vs. free will, you might consider my thoughts to be wrong. To me I feel that God knows everything (past, present and future) because He created it all. God’s timing is certainly different than our own and what we consider to be “late” is actually “on time” for God meaning that He is never “early” or “late.”

As with most of my other blogs, it is somewhat easy to figure these things out but difficult to put it into practice. I love that song “On Time God” especially when I hear a choir at church singing it because it just speaks to me. Sometimes I think about the people of Israel being held as slaves in Egypt or Joseph’s time in prison. Those seemed to be hopeless situations but in the long run it was all a part of God’s master plan.

My FAVORITE example is Abraham’s sacrifice to God; his son Isaac. At the moment Abraham lifted his knife to make the sacrifice; God stepped in right before the strike couldn’t have come sooner. Now if that isn’t a great example of God’s timing I don’t know what is. Don’t get me wrong, God did step in at the last second but the end result: it was all a test to see how faithful Abraham was to God.

How do you feel about this; is God an on time God or a last second savior?

If you ask me He is ALWAYS on time as the song lyrics go “He may not come when you want Him, but He’ll be there right on time…”

One thought on “Is God an On Time God or Last Second Savior?

Leave a Reply

