God Will Take You through the Storm

Image

 

 

Ever since I graduated from college in May, I’ve been feeling unfulfilled in terms of where I am in my life right now. I have filled out at least a dozen job applications, mailed out around 15 scholarship and donor letters in order to get help paying for graduate school and network as much as I can in order to get a few doors open to more opportunities. However, it has been almost two months and my efforts have not been successful in the least. For the past 3 years at Liberty University I used my time to study, network and do whatever I could in order to prepare myself for the world outside of the “Liberty Bubble.”

Now that I am in the world outside of the bubble, things do not seem to be going well at all. There hasn’t been a single job that has called me in for an interview or one where my application made it past the first round of applicants.

I live in Southern Virginia and for the past few days we’ve been getting nothing but storm after storm. The day might start out with the sun shining for a couple of hours but before long those dark storm clouds roll in. Next thing you know the sound of thunder rumbles from behind the clouds before a flash of lightning stretches out across the sky. After that, it is followed by the inevitable downpour that goes on and off for hours. 

The storms seem to represent some sort of outward manifestation of the storms that I seem to be going through in my life at the moment. I seem to be going through a storm of struggle, where I’m trying to walk towards success but the wind and rain seem to be pushing me back making the journey a difficult one.

Going further into this situation, I am reminded about Jesus’ parable of the house on the rock. During that story, the man who builds his house on a firm and stable foundation will be able to survive the storms that come and beat upon the house. It is meant to represent the kind of life we should live building our foundation on the faith of God. When I think about it, I realize that we are all going to go through hard times in life.

Looking up to the sky, all we can see are the dark clouds making it seem like all is lost. However, it is important to remember that the sun although out of sight is still there behind those clouds. After the storm is over, the clouds will depart but not before that first beam of sunlight cuts through. To me this represents the reward of all of the struggles we must endure during the storm of doubt. For those who keep the faith and keep on going no matter what the storm may dish out, just knowing that the sun is on the other side makes the storms worth it in the long run. 

One thought on “God Will Take You through the Storm

Leave a Reply

