Started From The Bottom…

 

Ever have one of those days when you just want to crawl up under a rock because everything seems to be falling down all around you?

It seems like no matter what you try to do nothing works out the way that you planned. I’m pretty sure I can speak for anyone reading this that we’ve all had some days like that.

I don’t know about you but sometimes I just sit and reflect on where I am now in life. With nearly half of 2013 gone, I sometimes feel a little depressed because I have not accomplished any of the goals I set on New Year’s;

-Record a full demo album (9-11 songs)

-Visit Nashville

-Join the Nashville Songwriters Association International

-Find a lawyer or music agent

-After finding an agent/lawyer, search for a record label

Man, all I can do is shake my head at how none of these goals have come to light. Found out that looking for a lawyer was premature because I have to have some concrete demo tracks to actually shop around to labels before I get a contract. Joining the NSAI has been setback due to having to work a job in order to pay off housing for last semester meaning I had no extra cash to pay the joining fee.

When it came to demos I went to a recording studio but the guy running it thought my songs were not good enough but I had the talent to get there if I kept on writing.

Ever since that day (which has been around a month and a half) I’ve been hesitant to even pick up my writing pen. It’s like everything I’ve worked for these past 2 years was meaningless.

Hopefully, I can get a breakthrough one way or another pretty soon because Lord knows I need one.

Here’s to anyone working hard on any goals that they’ve set for themselves. Just remember that if you are at rock bottom the only place to go is up!

Leave a Reply

