Raw Talent

Every person has something that they are really good at. One thing that makes them feel special because it is something they can do that their friends can’t or its some passion that fuels them in their day to day living. Sometimes that one thing you have will help decide what kind of career you get.

Athletes usually go for professional sport teams, singers and musicians shoot for musical aspirations and the list goes on. Regardless everyone has some talent that separates them from the rest.

However, it is difficult for some people especially those who are multi-talented or people who are talented in one area but have a desire to do something. Whatever the case maybe, it seems some fall in the category of raw and untamed talent.

For me I feel like I fit perfectly in that gray area of the talent spectrum.

Raw talent is a great thing but also it can lead to a lot of confusion. Having more than one talent can make things worse since it can have you running in all directions. Personally, it is something I struggle with everyday. Now I’m in no way shape or form trying to toot my own horn but I just have a lot of passions and what other people call talents then I know what to do with.

I just feel like there is no one that knows what I’m going through. Finishing up college, it is difficult to see where my skills will lead me when there is no clear path. I love writing, public speaking, web design, instructing (kind of like teaching I suppose you can say), connecting with other people, radio and photography.

With talent comes people trying to point you in a direction but like most things in life; the more people who try to help, the more confusing things get. Ever go through something like that, when you ask people for advice and everyone seems to be pointing in a different direction based on the answer they gave you?

I just wish there was a way to cultivate these skills to help achieve my dream, use what I learned in school and effectively touch other people’s lives. One thing that I am trying to avoid is to live a life of mediocrity.

That is something I will not stand for because I do not just want to be another face in the crowd or just an average Joe if you will. So, to anyone out there feeling the same way just know that you are not alone.

Whatever it takes use that raw talent and untapped potential to do something with your life that you can be proud of!

One thought on “Raw Talent

Leave a Reply

