Words Can Hurt Part 1: Confidence-Killer When Dieting

Image

 

 

Well I’m almost at Day 10 of not having sodas and things have been getting easier. You know what the worst part about dieting is? I know the answer varies depending on where you are in life.

I had to visit some family today because an uncle of mine died and his funeral is tomorrow. So, I got back from campus for a couple of days to visit them, I haven’t seen them since Christmas. I get there and talk to them for awhile and then one of them out of the blue just goes “Wow you put on a few pounds since I last saw you!”

That just cut me really deep…

I know it sounds childish to get worked up over a minor comment like that but to me it really hurt. The reason being was that it’s been nearly a week since I touched a soda, I’ve been going on 30-45 minute jogs at night for the past 10 days all in an effort to get my body used to training because over the summer I plan to really go hard care with my workouts and dieting to get in better shape (through losing weight, gaining more muscle and endurance) before next semester starts in August.

And to me all of the work I’ve done so far seemed like nothing based on that one comment. Yeah I know, family is supposed to poke fun with those kinds of comments and you’re supposed to laugh it off and move on. But for me that wasn’t the case. I mean I’ve lost 6 pounds over the past 2 ½ weeks and I now can get to the 4th notch on my belt while before I could only get my belt on by the 2nd notch. And this was all by cutting back on sweets, sodas, and other junk food along with exercising 30 minutes a day to stay loose.

For someone to just come along and say something like that while I’m making an effort to get fit just hurts worse than looking down at a scale and cringing from the number on it.

Words can hurt seriously whether it is a snide comment made on someone’s; family, gender, sexuality, religion, race, political views, etc. I mean one compliment can make someone’s day but one wrong joke or comment can cause lasting pain to a person.

My heart goes out to anyone who feels belittled while they are trying to better themselves. Don’t feel discouraged but just keep on keeping on. I know this was a setback for me mentally and emotionally but I know in my heart that there will always be someone trying to put you down when you are trying to build yourself up.

Keep on going and just remember that old saying; “Sticks and stones can break my bones but words will never hurt me.”

I know it’s a lot easier to say those words than to believe them but they do hold truth just remember that. 

5 thoughts on “Words Can Hurt Part 1: Confidence-Killer When Dieting

  1. Tara-Marie says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your uncle. Trying to lose weight is one of the hardest things to do and I am the exact same way. Anyone who makes a comment like that to me, it cuts me like a knife and I get really down on myself. 10days without soda is something I can only dream about since I drink a lot of ginger ale. You should feel very proud of yourself. You ar right, there will always be someone there trying to bring you down in order to bring themselves up. Remind yourself of all the good work you have been doing and that tomorrow is a new day. I wish you luck in your weight loss journey and I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    • Thanks! Yeah, words can be something else aright they say the pen is mightier than the sword. Haha, trust me by day 3 I wanted out because I “needed” a soda so bad. Though it is more about mental strength than physical desires.

      • Tara-Marie says:

        That’s the one thing I would love to cut from my diet, but is the hardest. I have really tried to like water, but do far it’s not panning out. If I can get to day 3 with no ginger ale that would be huge for me. 🙂

  2. heybates says:

    One of the things that started to hurt me the most was when people started to tell me to stop working out… I’m still 20-30 lbs overweight, and while my doctor guesses 10 of those pounds are loose skin, I know I still have huge thighs and calves. So, to hear folks telling me I was getting concave was frustrating because I had hit a plateau and all I wanted was encouragement to finish up, not stop.

    It’s been a long time since I heard the words, “You’ve gained weight.” or “You’re fat,” but it doesn’t meant they’ve stopped hurting, either. I can still remember the first boy to call me fat, in the first grade. And I remember when my friend’s little sister looked up at me and said, “You’re fat.” She was four or five, and it killed me, because I knew she was being honest and not cruel.

    The most important thing to remember is that you are making big changes in your life, and you are taking care of yourself. You have got to be your biggest advocate and your biggest fan. Don’t let these words hold you back, girl. You can do it. 🙂 ❤

    • Thanks and yeah when it comes from kids wow haha they can be cruel sometimes ok that’s a bit overkill but kids are honest so their comments can hurt the worst.

Leave a Reply

